NEA Honours Players That Embraced Sustainable Energy

Concord Green Energy won first place in the Renewable Energy category for their project, Concord FGV Keratong 2 Biogas Plant

NEA Honours Players That Embraced Sustainable Energy
Photo by Andreas Gücklhorn / Unsplash

Kuala Lumpur – The National Energy Awards (NEA) announced its winners for the year 2022 by honouring industry players for embracing and investing in sustainable energy practices.

Spearheaded by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (KETSA), NEA is an award that recognises forward-thinking sustainable concepts and practices for Malaysia's leading business figures in the renewable energy, energy management, and energy efficiency sectors.

NEA 2022, which aligns with Malaysia's goal of becoming carbon-neutral by 2050, continues to increase industry participation and awareness of sustainable energy practices adhering to international standards.

Industry Runcit Tidak Diberi Maklumat Secukpnya Mengenai Dasar Penamat Generasi
Berdasarkan keputusan tersebut, majoriti mereka yang dikaji hanya kurang maklumat dan tidak bersedia untuk pelaksanaan dasar tersebut.

,"NEA will encourage more local businesses and corporations to embrace the “new norm” in the electricity industry. I hope that NEA will continue to play its role in identifying Malaysian organisations that can spearhead the development of local and regional sustainable energy sector,” says KETSA’s Minister, YB Datuk Seri Takiyuddin bin Hassan.

Concord Green Energy won first place in the Renewable Energy category for their project, Concord FGV Keratong 2 Biogas Plant: The R&D Centre of Excellence. Tenaga Nasional Berhad also won the on-grid local grid type for its PV and mini hydro project on Pulau Tioman.

Renewable Energy Roadmap

With the support of NEA 2022, the nation is one step closer to achieving the objectives outlined in the Malaysia Renewable Energy Roadmap (MyRER), which futureproofs the country’s energy sector which aligns with Malaysia’s goal of becoming carbon-neutral by 2050.

A total of 20 awards in three categories are available to Malaysian residents, businesses, and organisations, including institutions of higher learning. Twelve groups were chosen as NEA winners in the categories of Energy Management, Energy Efficient Building, Renewable Energy, and Special Awards.

The fifth edition of the NEA saw winners in Category 1(Energy Management), with Medivest Sdn Bhd taking home the award for energy management for large buildings at Hospital Pakar Sultanah Fatimah HPSF. CSC Steel Sdn Bhd won the energy management for an industry award for their energy management toward efficient and sustainable process operations.

Other categories, such as Category 2 (Energy Efficient Building), saw BGreen Consultancy come out on top for green building large type at Kepong's Tzu Chi Si Hall. At Kompleks Sukan Astaka, Majlis Bandaraya Petaling Jaya (MBPJ) won the zero green building category.